Species at Risk Act (SARA) Consultation, Cooperation and Accommodation Project

This multi-year project will facilitate Indigenous communities’ and organizations’ participation in Environment and Climate Change Canada’s (ECCC) listing and recovery planning processes for terrestrial species as part of implementing the federal Species at Risk Act. Each region will focus their resources on an area of study and development that maximizes efforts to each species (see regional lists on the respective pages).

CIER’s role is to support a range of activities between Indigenous communities and organizations and ECCC on developing recovery documents, sharing knowledge and language, addressing threats to terrestrial species at risk survival and recovery, and land use planning for species at risk on reserve lands and within traditional territories.

Depending on the region, key project components will include:

  • Information sharing sessions
  • Engagement workshops
  • Nation-to-nation dialogues
  • Training sessions
  • Modest capacity funding
  • Project evaluation and reporting

Friday, May 17, 2024

1 p.m. PDT / 2 p.m. MDT & CST / 3 p.m. CDT / 4 p.m. EDT

Register to Session

Event Poster / Program Information / Application

The session will be recorded and available to all who register (so be sure to register even if you cannot attend so that the recording is sent to you).


To subscribe to the SARA-CCA mailing list, please click the link and confirm your region(s):

CIER MAP